Throughout millennia, researchers and inventors strived to build a perpetual motion machine, a device that would continue to move indefinitely once started. Without any external source of power, it was believed that the machine itself would generate an unlimited amount of energy. It was only with the formulation of the law of conservation of energy in the middle of the 19th century that physics quashed the principle of perpetual motion. Nevertheless, people’s fascination for the concept remained unbroken.

Of course, the HAMATIC does not purport to be perpetual motion machine – after all, the first automatic watch from Moritz Grossmann draws its kinetic energy from an external source. A pendulum-style hammer weight skilfully uses the energy generated through the wearer’s movements to transfer it via the ratchet wheel to the mainspring in the barrel, meaning that an external energy source makes the dream of infinite motion come true. It’s therefore safe to say that the HAMATIC is one of the most beautiful and complex examples of would-be perpetual motion.

The calibre 106.0

Discover everything about the heart of the HAMATIC.

Learn more

Tech Specs

Movement

Manufacture calibre 106.0, manually wound, adjusted in five positions

Special features

Grossmann balance; click pawl in reduction gear; adjustment with Grossmann micrometer screw on cantilevered balance cock; pillar movement with 2/3 plate and pillars made of untreated German silver, hand-engraved 2/3 plate and cantilevered balance cock; wide, horizontal Glashütte ribbing, double-band snailing on the mainspring barrel; raised gold chatons with pan-head screws; separately removable clutch winding mechanism; stop seconds for hand setting; automatic winding with oscillating hammer, bidirectional click wheels; idler with pawl clicks, manual yoke winder

Functions

Hours and minutes, subsidiary seconds with stop seconds

No. of parts

312

No. of jewels

38, of which 3 in screwed gold chatons

Escapement

Lever escapement

Oscillator

Shock-resistant Grossmann balance with 4 inertia and 2 poising screws, Nivarox 1 balance spring with No. 80 Breguet terminal curve, Gerstenberger geometry

Balance

Diameter 10.0 mm, frequency 21,600 semi-oscillations/hour

Power reserve

72 hours when fully wound

Operating elements

Crown for winding the watch, and setting the time

Case dimensions

Diameter: 41.0 mm, height 11.35 mm

Movement dimensions

Diameter: 36.4 mm, height: 5.15 mm

Case

Three-part, in 750/000 gold

Dial

Solid silver, opaline, with printed Roman numerals

Hands

Manually crafted, steel, annealed to a brown-violet hue

Crystal and display back

Sapphire crystal, antireflective coating on one side

Strap

Hand-stitched alligator leather with prong buckle in 750/000 gold

You have questions about

HAMATIC

Your Question

Seit Jahrtausenden versuchen Forscher und Erfinder immer wieder ein Perpetuum mobile zu konstruieren, jene Maschine, die sich, sobald einmal in Gang gesetzt, unendlich lange weiter bewegt. Ohne dem System von außen Energie zuzuführen, entsteht durch die Maschine selbst frei verfügbare Energie. Erst in der Mitte des 19. Jahrhunderts entzog die Physik mit der Formulierung des Energieerhaltungssatzes allen Überlegungen zu Perpetua mobilia die Grundlage. Dennoch blieb die Faszination dafür ungebrochen.

Ein Perpetuum Mobile ist die HAMATIC freilich nicht, bezieht die erste Automatikuhr aus dem Hause Moritz Grossmann ihre Bewegungsenergie doch von außen. Eine Pendelschwungmasse in Form eines Hammers nutzt die Energie, die durch die Bewegung des Uhrenträgers entsteht, geschickt aus, um sie über das Sperrrad auf die Zugfeder im Federhaus zu übertragen. Der Traum von der unendlichen Bewegung wird damit durch externe Energiezufuhr wahr. Es kann daher mit gutem Gewissen behauptet werden, dass es sich bei der HAMATIC um eines der schönsten und diffizilsten vermeintlichen Perpetua mobilia handelt.

Das Kaliber 106.0

Erfahren Sie alles über das Herz der HAMATIC.

Mehr erfahren

Technische Daten

Uhrwerk

Manufakturkaliber 106.0, Automatikaufzug, in fünf Lagen reguliert

Besonderheiten

Grossmann’sche Unruh; Klinkengesperr in Reduktionsgetriebe; Regulierung mit Grossmannʼscher Rückerschraube auf gestuftem Unruhkloben; Pfeilerwerk mit 2/3 Platine und Gestellpfeilern aus naturbelassenem Neusilber, 2/3 Platine und Unruhkloben handgraviert; breiter, waagerechter Glashütter Streifenschliff, doppelt gestufter Sonnenschliff auf der Federhaustrommel; hervorstehende Goldchatons mit aufgesetzten Schrauben; separat herausnehmbarer Kupplungsaufzug; Sekundenstopp am Unruhreif bei Zeigerstellung; Automatikaufzug mit Schwinghammer, beidseitig wirkende Klinkenräder; Automatikfreilauf mittels Ankerklinke, Handaufzug über Wippenaufzug

Funktionen

Stunde und Minute, kleine Sekunde mit Sekundenstopp

Einzelteile

312

Steine

38, davon 3 in verschraubten Goldchatons

Hemmung

Ankerhemmung

Schwingsystem

stoßgesichert gelagerte Grossmann’sche Unruh mit 4 Masse- und 2 Regulierschrauben, Nivarox 1-Spirale mit 80er Breguet-Endkurve, Form nach Gerstenberger

Unruh

Durchmesser: 10.0 mm, Frequenz: 21.600 Halbschwingungen pro Stunde

Gangreserve

72 Stunden nach Vollaufzug

Bedienelemente

Krone aus 750/000 Gold zum Aufziehen der Uhr und Einstellen der Uhrzeit

Gehäusemaße

Durchmesser: 41,0 mm, Höhe: 11,35 mm

Werkmaße

Durchmesser: 36,4 mm, Höhe: 5,15 mm

Gehäuse

dreiteilig, aus 750/000 Gold

Zifferblatt

Opalin mit römischen Ziffern

Zeiger

handgefertigt aus Stahl, braunviolett angelassen

Glas und Sichtboden

einseitig entspiegeltes Saphirglas

Band

handgenähtes Alligatorband mit Dornschließe in 750/000 Gold

Sie haben Fragen zur

HAMATIC

Ihre Frage